The House of the Moorish King (El Rey Moro)

Location: Calle de Santo Domingo, 17.

Tel: 952-187-200

Hours: 10:00 – 18:30h.

Price: 4 euros.

This building was completed in the 18th century and remodeled by the Duchess of Parcent in 1920. It has gardens designed by the French architect Jean Claude Forestier, who also designed the Maria Luisa Park in Seville. The building has an underground mine, which has steps leading down to the Guadelevin River and was used to fetch and store water. This mine was built by King Abomelik in the 14th century and slaves had to bring the water up in goatskins. 

Also the gardens are in in need of some TLC. However the water mine is a very evocative place to visit with a marvellous view of the gorge from river level at the bottom. Beware though this attraction is neither disability- (over 200 slippery steps of varying heights) nor height friendly.