San Marcos Church

 

San Marcos Church is located at Calle de Zamora. The Romanesque building has a circular floor plan and was built in the 11th century, although the date is uncertain. It was built on the orders of Count Raimundo de Borgoña and his wife Doña Urraca, daughter of King Alfonso VI. What is known is that in 1202 the church was completely built when King Alfonso IX turned it over to the Clerecia, priests from Salamanca. The steeple is Baroque. There are three naves that end in a semicircular apse. There are 14th century Gothic paintings of scenes from the life of the Virgin Mary. In 1967 the church was restored to return it to a purely Romanesque church.