I booked 2 nights in this hotel and stayed there on August 11 and 12. I had read the negative reviews of it but as I booked my flight to Scotland late, all B&Bs were full and I had no choice but to book that hotel. I must say it was the worst hotel I have ever seen in my life and I do travel very often, 5 to 6 times a year. OK it's an old building but this is not a deterrent for me (The Station Hotel in Perth is also old but so well-maintained). When I arrived at the reception, I said Hello to the young lady but I din't get any "hello" back which I found strange. If I had been in my home France, I would have repeated that "bonjour" to get an answer but well... she gave me the key to my room (with an old half-torn paper sticker)... I walked up the stairs to the second floor (holes in the walls of the corridor)... and I opened the door to my room, nicely named Glenlivet! Horror! I was immediately welcomed by an awful smell! and I do mean "awful"! There was a big water stain on the ceiling. I wanted to check how good the mattress was and then I saw a dozen woman's hair on the blanket! absolutely disgusting, I had the feeling the sheet had not been replaced... As for the mattress it was so soft and uneven that it had probably not been replaced for years! I decided to go to the reception again to complain and ask for another room, of course the hotel was fully booked. I asked the receptionist to come and check the state of the room. She saw the hair and decided to remove them herself! Later that evening, I decided to go out... the locker of the door was stuck! I called the reception, a guy came (the manager?) and had to go and take a screwdriver to remove the locker and get it repaired!
The next morning I couldn't have a shower! The water was either boiling hot or very cold, it was absolutely impossible to get it in between and after spending 10 minutes trying to solve the problem I gave up! I was really furious! I then had breakfast in the restaurant room, here again awful black stains on the carpets... white stains on the black trousers of one of the waiters and a young waitress who had apparently forgotten something said a loud "[--]" twice and laughed with one of her colleagues! Seeing the bad hygiene and maintenance of the whole building, I decided to keep to a continental breakfast with toasts and marmalade.
There were some groups of German and Italian tourists (this hotel is probably booked for package holidays tours).
The day after, there was omething itching me on the left thigh... and then the climax thing happened: I had a bed bug biting me! there were actually several red dots on my body which I first thought were midges bites (but as I had an excellent spray, I had found it dubious)... you can see the bed bug in one of my photos! First time I met this "lovely" insect!
The only positive aspect of this hotel was the lounge armchairs which were quite comfortable and the excellent free wi-fi connection.
It was my 4th time in Scotland as I'm passionate about this country! To be honest this hotel is a real disgrace to the whole country of Scotland! It should be closed for real maintenance and complete renovation but the boss of the hotel probably doesn't care! It was the worst hotel I've ever seen in my whole life and I srongly recommend you to avoid this hotel at any cost. You can see my other reviews, I'm really the easy-going type of tourist and hardly ever complain for silly things! I will write a letter of complaint to the Tourism Board of Scotland as well. Now you're warned...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24 August 2012
May I thank you for taking the time to write your comments and our apologies in the delay in replying to you this was so we could look thoroughly in to them –
Report response as inappropriate
Bed bugs – unfortunately these little creatures get every where and any where in the world. At times can be missed when we do our bed bug checks – however after reading your comment we took the room apart and could find nothing, we then requested that our pest control expert from a very well known company come and do a check also. He spent over 2 hours in the room and found only a dead wood louse no evidence of any bedbug activity such as live or dead insects, cast nymphal skins,eggs or bed bug marks which are very distinctive. On his report he has stated that in his opinion there is no bed bug activity in this room.
Our night porter had told us he repaired your lock and had done so within 10 minutes of you doing so.
The bed and mattress in this room has only being replaced in the last six weeks so we apologise to you if it was not what you were used to. Our housekeeping team brought many of the issues you have raised to our attention unfortunately after you departed – The leak has been repaired ceiling repainted, and the shower is due to be replaced next week there after it will be made available for our guests.
In the restaurant we hoover and clean every day of the week, the carpet gets shampooed at least twice a month. As you stated above the breakfast was busy unfortunately we should have sent the waiter away to get changed after he had spilt milk on himself when clearing tables however we were to busy at the time he changed shortly afterwards.
The hotel gets inspected a minimum of three times per year where each visit is unannounced by either the council EHO or company inspectors and if our hygiene was that bad we would not be allowed to serve food.
Once again thank you for your comments we have used them as a very good training tool
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC