We have recently returned from just over a week at this hotel, in an Executive Suite with club access. Whilst we enjoyed our stay, I was not overly impressed and feel that this hotel is in need of a good overhaul (probably why it was so reasonably priced).
Firstly, the good points about this hotel:-
- just off the corniche road, the hotel is well located for the centre (Abu Dhabi Mall, Marina Mall, Central Market souk etc) and has a very good valet parking system if you have a hire car, although it can be a little slow at weekends when busy;
- the staff are helpful and pleasant, particularly Olie in the club lounge who is an absolute star (does the man ever have a day off??). We only encountered one unpleasant staff member, an officious young female on reception who treated my husband like a criminal because we couldn't get the key to work for our room and we had had the cheek to go to the hotel's beach without passport or credit card (exactly why would we have them?);
- although there is some building work across from the hotel, the beach is a fairly peaceful spot, much more so than the pool which was noisy, cramped and heaving with screaming children while we were there.
The bad points:-
- whilst our room was spacious, it was dark and we almost always had to have lights on, even during the day. I understand that the windows may be small to keep the room cool in the height of summer but the decor is gloomy (the walls are an unattractive greyish colour). The furniture is dated and in our room the curtains were either torn or badly hung and at least one light was not working. Also, the living room was inter-connected to the room next door and, even though the hotel was not full whilst we were there, at one point we had people in the room next door which I find extremely irritating. Inter-connecting rooms are always poorly sound-proofed and we could hear conversations, the tv etc and no doubt they could hear likewise: if the hotel is not full, don't put strangers right next to each other! I was also annoyed that, having requested a non-smoking room, we were put on a smoking floor (having checked in at 2.00 am, we were too tired to raise the matter and then we couldn't be bothered moving all our stuff out). If you are not a smoker, you will definitely notice the smell in the corridor and at one point I felt that smoke was being wafted in through the a/c unit.
- the club lounge is far too small for the amount of club rooms in the hotel (at least two floors' worth, if not three) and we had to go to Cloud Nine on a couple of occasions which I did not enjoy particularly, as it is noisy and smoky and the service is nowhere as good as that provided by Olie in the club lounge;
- breakfast was good in terms of the variety and quality of food but was not particularly good in terms of service. By day two or three, we had discovered the coffee machine where you could help yourself to a latte or cappucino and also get a small pot of tea, which saved having to wait an age to be served a hot drink by the staff. They were also very slow at clearing away dirty plates. As for the service at the weekend, it was an utter shambles - when it is that busy, they should open another restaurant. We had breakfast in the club lounge on two occasions and, despite the limited selection of food, it was much more pleasant.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I liked the fact that it was not a vast high-rise like some of the other hotels and that it had a beach. However, would I stay there again? Not sure.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11 April 2012
Dear Traveller Bristol,
Report response as inappropriate
thank you very much for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to note that you overall enjoyed your stay and that your positive impression clearly outweigh the not so positive ones. I must apologize if your room was not in the best condition and we will review your comment with the Department Head concerned to ensure that such inaccuracies do not recur again in the future. While we endeavor to accommodate guests in the room category they request, we are not always able to do so and hence, we do not confirm room categories but endeavor to reserve the type of room requested. I am sorry that in your case we were not able to accommodate you in a non-smoking room and if we had known of your discomfort, we would probably have been able to accommodate you in a non-smoking room the next day – our associates would have been only too pleased to pack- and repack your personal belongings. Your comment on the Club Lounge have also been noted and I tend to agree with you that at times the Club Lounge seems indeed to be too small for the amount of guests we cater for. We are presently discussing a new and larger lounge facility with the hotel owners and we hope to able to offer our Club guests a more spacious lounge in a few months’ time. I have also taken note of your comment with regard to the breakfast service and again, I will review your comment with the Department Head concerned – we usually have extremely complimentary comments on our breakfast service and I will need to review what went wrong on the day of your breakfast. I do hope that despite your untoward experience at some areas of the hotel we will still be able to welcome you back soon again and I would ask you to please make your next reservation through me by using my contact details below in order for me to ensure that your next stay will be up to our usual high standard and up to your expectations. I look forward to meeting you personally the next time you visit Abu Dhabi and until then, I remain with kind regards,
J. Thomas C. van Opstal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC