Stayed two nights at the Blue Beetroot a few weekends ago. Yes, it's terribly cute and historical. But frankly, where else in that town are you going to stay? The other reviews say "this is the only/best place to stay" because there aren't any other options if you're looking for a hotel that caters to Americans. Dresden is another good option, driving into the pottery town for the day. Our room was right by the stairs and the walls are paper thin. We could clearly hear the family's conversation across the hall at 10:45p when they checked into their room. The phone at the front desk rang off and on throughout the night, waking us up each time. They should just turn it off when they leave in the evening. The room was cozy, meaning it was 2 inches higher than my 6ft1in husband. The two tiny square windows were not enough ventilation, even though it was just in the 60s when we went. There wasn't a fan, we slept on top of the covers it was so stuffy. Bathroom was modern, shower had quick hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast was also expensive for the area, 6E. We ate lunch in town, two full meals of soup, salads, with sodas and coffee, 10Euro total. If you're on a quick pottery run and your hotel staff needs to speak English, stay there. Recommend staying in Dresden though.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23 July 2012
Report response as inappropriate
Being an old building our walls are in fact quite thick but you may have heard someone if they were talking directly outside your door, you certainly wouldn’t have heard them once they were in their room. Regarding the phone, it isn’t normal for it to ring throughout the night but we do take on board what you are saying and will switch it to silent when there isn’t anyone on the desk at night from now on.
We do put fans in all of our rooms during the Summer months however we did discover that someone had removed the fan from the room you were in after your stay, we do apologise for this but had you asked us or any of our staff we would have gladly given you a fan, particularly as there should have been one in the room anyway.
Glad to hear that you were happy with the bathroom, hot water and water pressure!
Regarding the breakfast charge, we don’t aim to be the cheapest place in town but we do aim to provide a very good, high quality breakfast with homemade and locally sourced fresh produce, considering this and the variety of items we offer for breakfast we don’t feel that 6 euro is unreasonable and the feedback we get from the vast majority of our guests would bear this out.
Overall our aim is to provide comfortable accommodation in a unique building and to create a friendly ‘home from home’ environment. We provide excellent local knowledge on places to shop and things to do in the area and we are always prepared to go the extra mile and help our guests in any way we can. We don’t feel that you will get this combination of unique accommodation, friendly service and local knowledge staying in Dresden which is in another country and a good two hours drive from Bolesławiec
John and Barbara owners of the Blue Beetroot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC