After reviewing photos of the Westin's rooms on its website, my husband booked a junior suite to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary SEVEN months in advance of our arrival in Dublin. One week before we checked in, he also personally met with a representative at the front desk to reserve a parking space in the hotel's parking garage after we returned from our visit to Cork. She assured him that this would not be a problem, quoted him the nightly parking fee and verified the information under our reservation booking. Unfortunately, when we arrived at the hotel several days later, we were abruptly informed at curbside that the hotel parking lot was full, that it did not matter whether we had reserved a parking space in advance and were instructed to find a parking spot at another garage. While my husband scrambled to locate the garage, I waited in a long line at the front desk, which was only manned by one person. Instead of a junior suite, we were given a "writer's room" and were forced to pay the same rate as the much larger, individually decorated junior suite that we had looked forward to staying in. The "writer's room" was sub par with a non-functional layout. No explanation was given by the hotel; my assumption was that a large wedding party and their guests took over most of the rooms in the hotel before we arrived. When we departed, there was no one to assist us with our bags to the car. I ended up loading the car myself. The only positive comment I can give the Westin is its location. What a letdown. Next time we will stay at the Shelbourne.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12 June 2012
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us in The Westin Dublin. We do value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and evolve as a business.
I regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room and the parking facilities. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the writers’ room as these are our newly refurbished rooms. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss the issues you experienced I would be happy to go through things with you.
I look forward to hearing from you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC