Stayed here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary for 2 nights, although we had a very pleasant time I feel this hotel/B&B is highly over priced and by no means a 5*.
We stayed in Capelcrag which turned out to be a very small room with poor light. I found it dull to say the least, there were floor tiles in the bathroom cracked and the shower screen had mildew on the bottom!!! Under our bed we found sweet wrappers and rose petals suggesting the room had not been thoroughly cleaned and the throw on top of the bed had red stains on it!
We didnt mention these problems to the staff for several reasons, we were on a relaxtion break so the last thing we wanted was arguments & stress and secondly reading the reviews on here the staff seem very defensive.
Breakfast was average, wasnt overly hot and mushrooms tasted like they had been fried in dirty fat!
Overall a pleasant weekend for us but would not stay here again!
Oh and one final point if you are thinking of booking here do not pay extra for fairy lights, only a few of the lights worked and made the bed look cheap. By no means pretty.
Capelcrag is very dark & small
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25 May 2012
Many thanks for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
We do welcome all reviews, both critical ones & good ones! I am sorry you did not feel we offered you 5 star accommodation and service, as you will know we do not rate ourselves, this is done by independent associations annually and we have just been re awarded not only a 5 star AA rating but highly acclaimed, plus a breakfast award. We do strive to exceed peoples expectations, i am sorry you thought we were overpriced, of course guests will always get the lowest rates booking directly with ourselves and not through third party booking agents who's commissions run at over 20%.
However the claims you make do concern me and i have already spoken to my management and staff on duty during your stay about each one, it is a pitty you did not mention any issues during your stay, in fact my staff asked you if everything was ok, and again on check out as you did not seem to be enjoying yourselves, your reply was yes everything is ok thank you.
I can assure you, and everyone who is reading this my staff are trained to the highest standards of hospitality, they are certainly not defencive in their work, i think what you are referring to as defencive are our management replies on tripadvisor reviews, we have a right to reply and correct inaccuracies in peoples miss-leading reviews on tripadviser, and we do take all reviews seriously, we do investigate complaints and act to rectify problems which do occur from time to time.
In looking at your review i can assure you that any valid issues have been dealt with, such as the fairy lights, we did find that two our our stock light sets have bulbs not working and these have been replaced, however i would like to say that some of the issues you mention are not valid & therefore we cannot deal with those.
Thank you for choosing to stay with ourselves and if you would like to discuss any of the above directly with me please do not hesitate to call, i would like the opportunity to talk to you personally & hopefully resolve things as best we can after the event.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC